Whatcha-got Stirfry: beef with bok choy, veggies and red wine

mmMM! I do love me an experiment in the kitchen. And as yesterday was Monday, I had a fridge bursting with all kinds of random foods that were not substantial enough to be a meal on their own. There was about a quarter of a zuchini left over from something, half a green pepper, some carrots  left over from carrot cake a few weeks ago that were beginning to put out roots, and.. about a quarter of a bottle of red wine that had been sitting around for too long to be palatable in a glass on its own. So.

Flank steak was on sale this weekend, and I had picked up a pound of it and some bok choy to make a stir fry, forgetting I had all this other stuff in the fridge. Well, I threw it all together  last night, and voila!  A fusion stir fry that combines all the things normally found withering away in my fridge.

Onions, garlic and ginger are always on hand around here,  as is sesame oil, olive oil, corn starch and Thai chili paste. You know- all the regulars for good Asian cooking.

To begin, I diced up 2 cloves garlic and about a thumb’s worth of ginger, threw it in a bowl.  I then added 1 Tbsp. sesame oil, a big gloosh of red wine, 3 Tbsp.  soy sauce and a half or 3/4 tsp. crushed red pepper to the bowl. And the steak, which was sliced up into thin, long slices.   I let it marinate while I diced/shredded up everything else.

1/2 green pepper
1 small onion
1/4 suchini
I large carrot (grated, but cut to your own liking)
8 oz, mushrooms, sliced
1 small head bok choy

I discarded about half of the bok choy stalks, which I hate doing, but I already had so many veggies that I didn’t know what else to do. The nutrients are in the leaves, so I for sure wanted to keep them.

Once everything was cut up, I warmed some olive oil over med. heat and threw in everything but the bok choy. After a few minutes the veggies softened up a bit, and I then added the bok choy leaves and stalk chunks until the leaves wilted slightly.  This wonderful mix went into a bowl until the beef was done.

To cook the steak I warmed up some more olive oil and dumped in the meat. As it cooked, I mixed up 1 tsp.  Better than Bouilion into 1 C. hot water (use whatever kind of beef broth you like), 2 tsp. Thai chili paste and 3 tsp. cornstarch. I had to add more cornstarch when this was all simmering together, so I’d add more initially.

When the meat looked about half done, I added the sauce, one more small sploosh of wine, and let it boil for just a few minutes. Then the veggies went back into the pot (I had to switch to a stock pot at this point), the gravy coated everything and it smelled just lovely.

To complement, I steamed some brown rice.. mmMM!

I was going for the Thai beef  taste I’d loved in Chiang Mai, but since

a) I’m too lazy to make an accompanying peanut sauce  and

b) I wanted to use up all the stuff in my fridge this was the compromise. Not bad, although next time I’ll skip the red wine. I think I should get 4-6 servings out of  this mash-up.

Leave a Reply

