Two songs I'm using for teaching the paragraph

I like to use music in my classes. I feel like everyone “gets” music, even if they don’t understand how, exactly. And everyone most certainly does not “get” the writing process, even if they understand how to tell a story. So to that end, I’m using Johnny Cash’s “A Boy Named Sue” and Eminem’s “Stan” as two examples of  stories that have fairly clear “paragraph” breaks. Thinking of each verse section as a “paragraph” helps listeners see how the unity of a paragraph relies on like ideas being grouped together, and for students who don’t really “get” the writing process but like music, it seems to make a lot of sense to get them thinking about writing with something they already do know.

Take a listen and “see” what you think.

2 thoughts on “Two songs I'm using for teaching the paragraph

  1. H.E. ELLIS says:

    I love that you link the two! My kid picks on me because he loves country music and I don’t. Then he had me listen to Blake Shelton’s “She Wouldn’t Be Gone” and I loved it. Something about the way the beats flow reminded me of when I took Shakespeare in school and how much I loved the cadence of the sonnets. Or it could be that Blake Shelton is wicked cute.

Leave a Reply

